Ijazat

न थी इजाज़त, जो देखने की,
कुछ ऐसे सपने सजाये मैंने,
जो चाहता हूँ, भुला दूं उनको,
बिना इजाज़त सता रहे हैं

न थी इजाज़त, जो बोलने की,
वह बात दिल में बसाई मैंने,
जो चाहता हूँ, निकालूँ उस्को,
बिना इजाज़त बसी हुई है

न थी इजाज़त, जो चाहने की,
वह चाह दिल में जगाई मैंने,
जो चाहता हूँ, न चाहूं उस्को,
बिना इजाज़त जला रही है

Update: Rough translation for my English readers

The dreams that were forbidden to me
I dreamt such dreams.
Now that I desire to forget them,
they haunt me unbidden.

The idea that I was forbidden to speak.
I let it reside in my mind.
Now that I desire to root it out,
it stays on unbidden.

The desire that was forbidden to me
I encouraged that desire in my heart.
Now that I desire to not desire,
it burns me unbidden.

4 Responses

  1. It was really soul searching. Too good. Need to read more.

  2. Apoorv has shown this poem..I never knew you were still active on the blog and started writing poems..

    Nice work..start writing more.. If its indeed the first, you have done an even more exemplary job..

    and I hope its just a random thought that made you write the poem..and you don’t mean what is written..

  3. Thank you for the kind words. It is not the first, but it is the first I have published.

    Sadly, it is all too true.

  4. […] Here is a piece of Hindi poetry that has recently appeared on the “Applying philosophy” blog, here [^]: […]

Leave a Reply

