A poetic expression of a lack of purpose

Ye lamha filhaal jee lene de (Translation: Let me savour this moment for now)

This line came to my mind today at work (for a reason that I will leave unexplained) and I decided to look up the lyrics of the whole song after I got home. Here are a few lines. The lyricist is Gulzar.

maasoom si hasi bewaja hi kabhi
hoton pe khil jaati hai
(An innocent smile lights up my lips occasionally for no reason)

anjaan si khushi behti huvi kabhi
saahil pe mil jaati hai
(I find an unknown happiness, drifting away, occasionally stopping at the shore)

yeh anjaana sa darr ajnabee hai magar
khoobsurat hai ji lene de
(This unknown fear is a stranger, but it is beautiful, let me experience it)

yeh lamha filhaal ji lene de
(Let me savour this moment for now)
yeh lamha filhaal ji lene de

dil hi mein rehta hai aankhon mein behtha hai
kachcha sa ek khwaab hai
(It stays in my heart, flows in my eyes, this young dream of mine)

lagta sawal hai shayad jawab hai
dil phir bhi betaab hai
(It seems to be a question, it is perhaps an answer, but my heart is still eager)

yeh sukoon hai to hai
yeh junoon hai to hai
khoobsurat hai ji lene de
(This may be peace or it may be madness, it is beautiful, let me live it)

yeh lamha filhaal ji lene de
(Let me savour this moment for now)
yeh lamha filhaal ji lene de

The lyrics are deeply disturbing. They describe the mental state of a person, who does not know what he is doing, what he is experiencing, why he is experiencing it, but wants to savour it. The mental state of a person without purpose trying to find some meaning to life by “living in the present”. I was hoping to find a poetic expression of my state of mind but this is most definitely not it. Sigh.

4 Responses

  1. Why don’t you try this one. Even if not poetic, the expression therein is dramatic enough:

  2. Huh??? What’s that got to do with my post?

  3. Three points.

    1.
    1.1 Ye lamha filhaal jee lene de
    Your translation: Let me savour this moment for now.
    Exact translation: This moment, for the time being, let me live through [may be taken as: savour].

    1.2 anjaan si khushi behti huvi kabhi, saahil pe mil jaati hai
    Your translation: I find an unknown happiness, drifting away, occasionally stopping at the shore
    Exact translation: An unknown sort of happiness, flowing on sometimes [or occasionally], is found [or met with] at the shore.

    2.
    Yeh lamha, filhaal, JEE lene de.
    Yeh lamha, filhaal, Joint Entrance Examination lene de.

    3.
    In case you wish, let me know if I should stop commenting here, and also, if you so wish, remove your blog from the blogroll list from at my blog. This “huh” and “my post” and all that business is not only unexpected, given the sum totality of the context, it can also be taken as insulting. I am half-inclined to do so, anyway.

    Got it?

    Do let me know—if you care. [Was expecting things to come to this pass sometime or the other anyway. Never been a JPBTI. Never wanted. And, at some point or other, always found problems with them. BTW, I have saved this comment, in case you moderate it out. And, BTW, you make money, don’t you? You could get job in CAE field, couldn’t you?]

    Ajit
    [E&OE]

  4. Have been very busy.

    3. You are most welcome to make the sort of comments you have made earlier.
    I hate spoofs, I hate videos and this was completely off-topic. Obviously I was irritated.

    JBPTI? What’s that? make money? CAE?
    Let’s not get into any of this though. If you wish to discuss, you have my email, you can write and I will write back.

Leave a Reply

